Small Unit Tactics contact patriot-dawn Patriot Rising

MRE's or dehydrated?

Home Forums Tactical Fitness & Nutrition MRE's or dehydrated?

This topic contains 13 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of tango tango 2 years ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Jason Howe
    BrothersKeeper
    Participant

Getting ready for the combat leader course and I’m debating over these two options. I did high end dehydrated food for my combined CTT/CP in October 2015 and it worked out ok. A little extra fuss with the rocket stove. I ended up eating too much and some of the meals seemed to produce a bit too much gastrointestinal activity. I don’t have a military background and I’m not much of a camper so I have very little experience with MRE’s. I tried a couple that my battle buddy gave me and while they were quick and easy to use, the taste was marginal and the nutritional value seemed marginal as well. Does any vendor make a higher grade of MRE? For a full three day patrol how would some of you plan your meals. It seems that one full meal per day and various high energy snacks is all one could pack without needing a much larger pack.

Land Nav 06/15
    Rifle Skills/CTT/CP
    10/15
    CLC 04/17
    Alumni Live Fire 08/18

Don’t let your past define your future.

Profile photo of JohnnyMac
    JohnnyMac
    Participant

I’ll be classing up with you and have been thinking this over too. I did a little research on MRE stuff, here are some links.

ITS Tactical MRE Shootout

Civilian MRE Comparison