Small Unit Tactics contact patriot-dawn Patriot Rising

Review HEAT 1 August 2018

Home Forums Class Reviews Review HEAT 1 August 2018

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Healthhokie Healthhokie 2 weeks, 5 days ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of john32514
    john32514
    Participant

I have been to several other shooting schools ,but they only taught individual tactics. I wanted to do Infantry team tactics (just for fun) so I went to Max Velocity Tactical in Romney , West Virginia.

I am a Machinist,57 years old and not an athlete or runner. My knees are not very good so I was not quite able to do the fitness prerequisites required for the 4 day HEAT1 (Hostile Environment Advanced Tactics) class.

I signed up for the first two days of the class which has no fitness prerequisite.(just the flat range part)

I did OK on the flat range days and Max said that I could stay for the field exercise part of the class, if I wanted.

The highlight of the class was on day three when the class was split into 4 man squads and patrolled up a wooded valley.

My heart was pounding with excitement as my squad
    started off! We had not gone far when two “bad guy” targets popped up. Our patrol deployed into a line, shot the targets, took cover and applied suppressive fire. We advanced by fire and maneuvering with shouts of SET!, MOVING! and also an occasional cry of STOPPAGE! and BACK IN! When the squad reached the enemy position we assaulted through and then consolidated the group and did a tactical reload. It was all very complicated but the range officers were there to help and ensure safety.

I did not do any running. When going to cover I just walked ,briskly, as fast as I could. I was the slowest student in the class, when taking cover, but I did not delay the class.