Small Unit Tactics contact patriot-dawn Patriot Rising

Weapons Transportation to the Class

Home Forums Class Reviews Weapons Transportation to the Class

This topic contains 16 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of WTL veritas556 4 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of
    Anonymous

All, this is a thread were members who travelled with weapons talk about how they secured them.

Even though I am not a lawyer I will make a start based on published law.
    real lawyers are encouraged to chime!!!

Federal law says you can transport legal firearms in your trunk between any 2 locations where they are legal and you have a right to be.

Here is the statute:

§ 926A. Interstate Transportation of Firearms
    Notwithstanding any other provision of any law or any rule or regulation of a State or any political subdivision
    thereof, any person who is not otherwise prohibited by this chapter from transporting, shipping, or receiving a
    firearm shall be entitled to transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where he may lawfully
    possess and carry such firearm to any other place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm if,
    during such transportation the firearm is unloaded, and neither the firearm nor any ammunition being
    transported is readily accessible or is directly accessible from the passenger compartment of such transporting
    vehicle: Provided, That in the case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the driver’s compartment
    the firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or
    console.

Note: If you travel through any state with the firearm unloaded and secured you are covered under Federal law. If
    you stop or interrupt your trip you then come under state law.

Different jurisdictions may interpret this in different ways.